This morning’s workout and some tips..

Last night, I told myself that I should do my running workout this morning before going to work. Although last night wasn’t that good since I’m having an allergic reaction before I fell asleep. I woke up about 30 minutes late from the supposed time I should wake up when I’m running. Bad uh!? Worse is I’m having a stuffy nose and soon I started sneezing over and over again. I felt like sleeping again but can’t go back to sleep anymore. So I get up on bed, and started my warm-up exercise since I decided to go for a quick run today.

Maybe you would ask me “Why? You’ve had colds but still, you decided to go for a run?” or maybe “Is it bad to go for a run when you have cold?” Well that’s actually a simple question I had in mind before making my decision. And yes, I found an answer, a very helpful answer!

Based on an article I found at HowStuffWorks.com, written by Debra Ronca; she mentioned that running is meditative, burns calories, builds your endurance and tones your body. Yes, that many people find the activity addictive as well as me. Now, she pointed out why people still continue with their running regimens even when they’re sick. She stated that most of sick people will curl up in bed, take a rest and have some hot soup with them; but some others don’t, instead, they still go out for a run even with they have colds.

Since I had the same situation at that moment, I found out more that the best way to decide whether it is safe to go for an exercise or not is to have this “neck check”, as the doctors call it as it is.

She emphasize that a person is free to go running if his/her cold is “above the neck” which specifies the following symptoms:
– Runny nose
– Nasal congestion
– Sneezing
– Sore throat
So, if you have those symptoms, feel free to go running or business as usual, but be more careful.

Doctors advise against proceeding with your exercise regimen if your symptoms are “below the neck”, however. The symptoms include:
– Chest congestion
– Hacking cough
– Nausea or upset stomach
– High fever
– Fatigue
– Body and muscle aches

She also includes in her article that some people think that running in cold temperatures will actually make them sick, which isn’t true. You can’t freeze your lungs or windpipe. Your body heats the air you breathe. When the air is particularly cold, you may feel a burning in your chest as you inhale. If that’s the case, try covering your mouth with a scarf or wearing a ski mask. That’ll help heat up the air before you inhale it.

Keep in mind, though, if you have an infection in your chest or throat, running outside can indeed make things worse (according to the below-the-neck rule). But if you have a simple head cold, it should be fine to take that run, even if it’s cold outside. The adrenaline running provides can even help clear up a stuffy head.

Always remember to know your limits and always listen to what your body is telling you.

Anyway, here’s a good result of my running workout this morning. Having colds but felt better after doing a quick run!

Image sources

Say something

