Top 5 pick!

Hello guys, here I am again for a new post for my “Weekly Top 5”! I also decided to make a separate section on it, for easier viewing. Anyway, here’s the top 5 most played song on my playlist.

5. The Killers – Miss Atomic Bomb (Indie rock)

4. Ayreon – Valley of the Queens (Progressive Rock/Metal)

*there are also other versions: Stream of Passion cover & Floor Jansen cover

3. Agua de Annique & Anneke van Giersbergen – I Want (Triprock/Pop rock)

2. After Forever – Energized Me (Progressive Metal)

1. Foxboro Hot Tubs – Alligator (Punk rock)


I hope you enjoy this week’s pick! Happy weekend!

Ayreon’s upcoming album “The Theory of Everything”

Dutch musician, Arjen Lucassen (mainly the headmaster of Ayreon) have posted the details and the pre-order link for the upcoming album titled as “The Theory of Everything”.

[Image courtesy of Arjen’s website]

The track listing:

1. Prologue: The Blackboard
2. The Theory of Everything part 1
3. Patterns
4. The Prodigy’s World
5. The Teacher’s Discovery
6. Love and Envy
7. Progressive Waves
8. The Gift
9. The Eleventh Dimension
10. Inertia
11. The Theory of Everything part 2

12. The Consultation
13. Diagnosis
14. The Argument 1
15. The Rival’s Dilemma
16. Surface Tension
17. A Reason To Live
18. Potential
19. Quantum Chaos
20. Dark Medicine
21. Alive!
22. The Prediction

1. Fluctuations
2. Transformation
3. Collision
4. Side Effects
5. Frequency Modulation
6. Magnetism
7. Quid Pro Quo
8. String Theory
9. Fortune?

10. Mirror Of Dreams
11. The Lighthouse
12. The Argument 2
13. The Parting
14. The Visitation
15. The Breakthrough
16. The Note
17. The Uncertainty Principle
18. Dark Energy
19. The Theory of Everything part 3
20. The Blackboard (reprise)

Additional Information:
– It features a stellar cast of guests, with members past and present of Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Kamelot, Genesis, Yes, ELP, Asia, Toehider, Grand Magus, and Ancient Bards (see below)
– It will be a double album
– It begins a completely new story line for the Ayreon universe
– It comprises four 20-plus minute “epics” divided into 42 separate tracks
– It’s a true Rock Opera with a dramatic, real-world story
– It will be released in 4 editions, including an exclusive limited edition and vinyl (details TBA)
– The DVD for the special and limited editions features two and a half hours of behind the scenes content
– The scheduled release date is 28 October, 2013

Guest Musicians:
(in order of appearance)
JB (Grand Magus) as The Teacher
Sara Squadrani (Ancient Bards) as The Girl
Michael Mills (Toehider) as The Father
Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil) as The Mother
Tommy Karevik (Kamelot, Seventh Wonder) as The Prodigy
Marco Hietala (Nightwish, Tarot) as The Rival
John Wetton (Asia, King Crimson) as The Psychiatrist

Ed Warby (Hail of Bullets, Gorefest) – drums
Rick Wakeman (Yes) – keyboards
Keith Emerson (Emerson Lake and Palmer) – keyboards
Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) – keyboards
Steve Hackett (Genesis) – lead guitar
Troy Donockley (Nightwish) – Whistles, Uilleann pipes
Ben Mathot (Dis) –violin
Maaike Peterse (Kingfisher Sky) – cello
Jeroen Goossens (Flairck) – flute , bass flute, piccolo, bamboo flute and contrabass flute
Siddharta Barnhoorn – orchestrations
Michael Mills (Toehider) – Irish Bouzouki
Wilmer Waarbroek – backing vocals
Arjen Anthony Lucassen – electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, mandolin, analog synthesizers,
Hammond, Solina Strings

There will also an extra DVD for the special and limited edition, and it contains:
– Feature: The Making of The Theory of Everything (47:49)
– Full length interviews with Arjen, Cristina Scabbia, Tommy Karevik, JB, Sara Squadrani, Marco Hietala, Mike Mills, and Ed Warby (Total time 1:31:19)
– Time lapse clips of recording sessions (total time 12:56)

The artwork for the album cover was painted by Belgian artist Jef Bertels, who has painted all of the Ayreon covers since “Into the Electric Castle”.
Additional artwork for the album booklet is by Christophe Dessaigne, who also designed the Star One “Victims of the Modern Age” and Guilt Machine “On this Perfect Day.”

Pre-orders have started for this release. Be sure to check it all here.